Nathaniel MG Cup 2018-19: first round draw

Bangor City and Caernarfon Town have been given mouthwatering ties in the opening round of the 2018-19 Welsh Premier League Cup.

Caernarfon’s first round clash involves a visit to Rhyl – one of this season’s wildcard entries and tipped by some for a return to the WPL by clinching the Huws Gray Alliance title, not least from the Lillywhites’ new director of football Eddie Maurice Jones.

The Canaries went as far as the quarter finals of the Nathaniel MG Cup last season, beating both Llandudno and Holyhead Hotspur, before a 2-0 defeat to eventual winners The New Saints.

City, although now preparing for life in the second tier, will host top flight opposition once again as Llandudno visit Nantporth.

Bangor, under new manager Craig Harrison, will be hoping to go further than last time around – when they beat Denbigh Town 5-2, but were denied a place in the last eight by Connah’s Quay Nomads (2-0).

The only other Gwynedd club – Bala Town – have been drawn at home to another HGA side, Guilsfield, in the mid Wales section. The Lakesiders fell at the first hurdle last year in a 1-0 defeat to Newtown.

Here’s the full first round draw…
Bala Town v Guilsfield
Bangor City v Llandudno
Cambrian & Clydach BGC v Barry Town United
Carmarthen Town v Goytre
Cefn Druids v Airbus UK Broughton
Denbigh Town v Prestatyn Town
Flint Town United v Holywell Town
Goytre United v Afan Lido
Haverfordwest County v Llanelli Town
Rhyl v Caernarfon Town
Ton Pentre v Penybont
Welshpool Town v Aberystwyth Town

The first round ties will be played on Tuesday 28th August.

Meanwhile, the new league season finally gets underway this weekend with Bangor starting at home to Buckley in the HGA on Saturday followed by Caernarfon’s televised WPL opener at home to Cefn Druids on Sunday.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Eich Gorsaf, Eich Llais / Your Station, Your Voice