Inter-Island Games: final Ynys Môn squads announced

Ynys Môn 2019

Team Ynys Môn have named their final squads for this month’s Inter-Island Games football.

Twenty men and eighteen women have made the cut to represents the hosts of the week-long international tournament, which kicks off on Sunday 16th June.

Porthmadog goalkeeper Paul Pritchard will captain the men’s squad with Amlwch Town Ladies’ Laura Eynon as skipper for the women’s team.

Both Anglesey teams start their campaigns with games against the Western Isles on opening day at Holyhead Hotspur’s New Oval ground.

Sixteen teams from ten islands will take part in the tournament – being held at eleven clubs across the island – in a replacement tournament being held in place of football at next month’s Natwest Island Games in Gibraltar.

Entry to all thirty games during the week will be free.

Between them, men’s manager Campbell Harrison and women’s manager Karen Williams have assessed around 120 players from Anglesey since preparations for the Games got underway. Provisional squads of 25 men and 21 women were announced before the final cut was made.

The pair said: ”Ourselves, our staff, and our squads have been on such a fantastic journey over the last year or so building up to June 15th and to be at the point of announcing our final selections for this historic tournament is very exciting.”

”What this journey has absolutely proved to both of us is that the talent and the passion from football players on the island is out there…and the quality of player we have on the island coupled with the desire to wear our shirt and represent our home has made coming to our final decisions very difficult.”


Men’s squad:
Paul Pritchard (Porthmadog – captain)
Jordan Taylor (Bodedern Athletic), Gari Owen (Llangefni Town), Ryan Taylor (Bodedern Athletic), Guto Hughes (Conwy Borough), Tom Taylor (Bromsgrove Sporting), Tomos Clarke (Conwy Borough), Cai Powell-Roberts (Llangefni Town), Alex Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Dan Thomas (Llangefni Town)
Jay Gibbs (Porthmadog), Dean Garmey (Holyhead Hotspur), Dafydd Jones (Bodedern Athletic), Gerwyn Roberts (Mynydd Llandegai), Alex Boss (Aberystwyth Town), Liam Morris (Llangefni Town), Sam Jones (Caernarfon Town)
Melvin McGuinness (Holyhead Hotspur), John Littlemore (Porthmadog), Matthew Jones (Llangefni Town)

Women’s squad:
Nicky Davies (Sheffield United), Ceri Pritchard (Amlwch Town Ladies)
Carol Lewis (Amlwch Town Ladies), Laura Eynon (Amlwch Town Ladies – captain), Paige Williams (Amlwch Town Ladies), Sara Furlong (Amlwch Town Ladies), Beth Jones (Caernarfon Town Ladies), Emma Roberts (Cardiff Metropolitan)
Jordanne Greenough (Llandudno Ladies), Cerys Gadd (Amlwch Town Ladies), Charlotte Gill (Guiseley Vixens), Ffion Owen (Caernarfon Town Ladies), Ceri Slaney (Caernarfon Town Ladies), Angharad Evans (Bethesda Athletic Ladies)
Catrin Evans (Bethel Ladies), Erin Maloney (Bethel Ladies), Lexi Crawley (Amlwch Town Ladies), Ceri Lois (Bethesda Athletic Ladies)

Harrison and Williams added: ”Cutting down our provisional squads proved very challenging, because every player worked so hard and gave their all, and we’ve had to make some tough decisions, but we feel with the 20 men’s and 18 women’s players selected that both our sides have realistic chances of winning a medal at this summer’s tournament.”

”It will be a massive honour for us all to represent Ynys Môn on home turf this summer – we will be the first ever football teams to do it at this level – and we can’t wait to get going now. We’re going to do everything we can to make our island proud of us, and we would absolutely love to have their support.”

Click HERE for full details of the Inter-Island Games fixture list

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Eich Gorsaf, Eich Llais / Your Station, Your Voice