FAW Trophy: Llangefni and Llanrug at home in fifth round

Two clubs in Anglesey and Gwynedd remain in the fray for the last sixteen of this season’s FAW Trophy.

Welsh Alliance leaders Llangefni Town reached round five with a 4-0 win over Llanystumdwy. Two second half goals from Matthew Jones ensured the Division One frontrunners avoided an upset by their Gwynedd League visitors – Iwan Parry had opened the scoring from a tight free kick with Sean Pritchard doubling the lead.

Their reward is a home clash with reigning Pembroekshire League champions Hakin United – the Milford Haven side were 3-2 winners over Caerphilly Athletic in Saturday’s fourth round.

The standout tie of the fifth round will see 2013-14 winners Llanrug United face Chirk AAA – the current Trophy holders and the club United beat in the 2014 final.

Llanrug needed extra time to dispatch Llanidloes Town 5-2 on Saturday, having taken the lead early on via Alan Mark Owen and David Noel Williams. Luke Phillips edged the visitors back in the front before Joni Sadler wrapped up the victory.

For the record, Chirk had an easier route to round five, beating New Brighton Villa 4-0.

The rest of the fifth round draw, as made in Cardiff on Monday:

Abertillery Bluebirds v Rhos Aelwyd
Buckley Town v Garden Village or Villa Dino Christchurch
Conwy Borough v Llanfair United
Goodwick United v Penydarren BGC
Brymbo v Greenfield
Mynydd Isa Spartans v Grange Albion

Ties to be played on Saturday 13th January 2018.