Election 2019: Ex-Tory MP withdraws as Môn candidate

The Conservatives are still without an election candidate on Ynys Môn following the withdrawal of Chris Davies.

The former Brecon and Radnorshire MP lost his seat following a recall petition in June – earlier this year, he was fined £1500 after he admitted two charges of making a false expenses claim.

The Tories named Mr Davies as their candidate on Tuesday evening, just two days before nominations close for the general election.

But just hours later, he announced his withdrawal. In a statement, he said: ”Given the reaction in the media to the idea of me being a candidate, I have decided to pull out of the selection process.”

”I will not want to put my wife and family through any more distress’.’

Before news of the withdrawal broke, Plaid Cymru’s candidate for Ynys Môn, Aled ap Dafydd, said Mr Davies’ selection was ”unbelievable” and made ”a mockery of the people of the island”.

Welsh Labour candidate Mary Roberts said the decision to withdrawal had left the Welsh Conservatives ”in complete disarray”.

Baroness Christine Humphreys, deputy leader of the Welsh Liberal Democrats, said ”the Conservatives have demonstrated their utter contempt for the voters of Ynys Môn.”

Among reaction from the Tories, Monmouth AM Nick Ramsay tweeted Mr Davies had ”done the right thing withdrawing from the election”. He added: ”As John Major once said, when the curtain falls, it’s time to leave the stage.”

Earlier, Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire AM Angela Burns claimed Mr Davies had been imposed as a candidate, adding: ”You couldn’t make it up.”

Mr Davies had previously attempted to be selected as a candidate for Brecon and Radnorshire before he was selected for Ynys Môn.

Four candidates have now been confirmed for Ynys Môn following the close of nominations last Thursday.

Ynys Môn
Aled ap Dafydd – Plaid Cymru
Helen Jenner – Brexit Party
Mary Roberts – Labour
Virginia Crosbie – Conservative

Albert Owen, who has stepped down as MP after eighteen years, held Labour at the 2017 general election with a majority of 5,259 votes.

The list of candidates in the two Gwynedd constituencies, as of Wednesday lunchtime, are as follows:

Gonul Daniels – Conservative
Gary Gribben – Brexit Party
Hwyel Williams – Plaid Cymru
Steffie Roberts – Labour

Plaid held the seat the 2017 election with a majority of just 98 votes.

Dwyfor Meirionydd
Graham Hogg – Labour
Liz Saville-Roberts – Plaid Cymru
Louise Hughes – Brexit Party
Tomos Davies – Conservatives

Plaid held the seat at the 2017 election with a majority of 4,850 votes.

The Welsh Liberal Democrats and the Wales Green Party are not fielding any candidates in the three North West seats after forming a pro-EU alliance with Plaid Cymru, under the banner of Unite to Remain.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Eich Gorsaf, Eich Llais / Your Station, Your Voice